East Feliciana Parish
Founded in 1824, East Feliciana Parish was formed by splitting Feliciana Parish at Thompson Creek. The Louisiana legislature compelled by complaints that the floods and the quick sands of Thompson Creek made it very difficult, if not impossible for the citizens of now West Feliciana to travel to Jackson to conduct parish affairs, in particular relating to the administrative justice.
Nestled in the heart of Louisiana's plantation country, the parish grew and prospered with cotton as the center of that growth. The Civil War and Reconstruction ended the early prosperity and it was not until nearly the turn of the century that the early prosperity was regained. With the arrival of the boll weevil in 1909 and the governmental restrictions placed on cotton acreage, the parish started a downward economic spiral, which lasted until the late 1930's. As diversified farming was introduced, beef cattle and dairying became increasingly more important. As Baton Rouge became a major industrial center, East Feliciana became the place where many of these workers chose to reside. During World War II, logging and sawmill operations increased in importance and became a vital part of the parish economy. Beef cattle and timber production remain the two leading agricultural interest within the parish today.
The East Feliciana Parish Police Jury is the legislative and executive government of East Feliciana Parish. The Police Jury is made up of 9 members (jurors) . They are elected every four years by the voters of their districrt. Each juror represents a specific district in the parish, while considering the overall good of the entire parish. The jurors create ordinances when needed to protect the rights of the residents and improve the quality of life throughout the parish.
Map of Republic of West Florida
EAST FELICIANA PARISH POLICE JURY © 2013 All Rights Reserved